Key findings
This is an original analysis of the JEE Advanced 2026 IIT Patna cutoffs: JoSAA counselling for every programme IIT Patna filled through JEE Advanced — all 11 B.Tech programmes, the B.Tech + M.Tech dual degrees, the B.Tech + MBA and BS + MBA programmes, and BS Economics. Every rank in this article is a JEE Advanced 2026 rank, and it cannot be compared with a JEE Main rank. The JoSAA figures are tracker-sourced, because the official JoSAA opening and closing rank tool could not be driven from this workspace; every figure was cross-checked against at least two tracker pages that state they reproduce the official JoSAA reports, and the article says plainly where the data runs out.
- IIT Patna CSE closed at JEE Advanced rank 3,635 in JoSAA Round 5, up from 3,303 in Round 1. It has risen every year since 2022 (2,685, 2,811, 3,144, 3,377, 3,635).
- Artificial Intelligence and Data Science closed at 4,574, Mathematics and Computing at 5,320, ECE at 6,026 and Electrical and Electronics at 7,827. The easiest B.Tech branch, Metallurgical and Materials Engineering, closed at 17,179.
- The CSE dual degree (B.Tech + M.Tech) closed at 4,432 and did not move across any of the five rounds; Mechanical + MBA (IIM Mumbai) closed at 9,006, also flat across all rounds. BS Economics closed at 14,550 and BS Economics + MBA at 15,050.
- For reserved categories the closing ranks are category ranks, not CRL ranks: CSE closed at EWS 507, OBC-NCL 1,258, SC 775 and ST 381 (gender-neutral). The widest category closing in any B.Tech branch was OBC-NCL 5,848 (Metallurgical).
- IIT Patna has 603 B.Tech seats of sanctioned capacity — 638 offered including 35 female supernumerary seats — across 11 programmes. CSE and Mechanical have the largest intakes (83 and 82 seats).
- 56,880 candidates qualified JEE Advanced 2026 out of 1,79,694 who appeared in both papers. The CRL qualifying cutoff was 92 out of 360 (8 marks in each subject), up from 74 in 2025. That is a qualifying cutoff, not an admission cutoff — see the section below.
How to read these closing ranks
A closing rank is the last rank admitted to a programme in a category. If your rank is equal to or better (lower) than the closing rank, you were in range for that seat. An opening rank is the best (lowest) rank admitted. Both move every year with the number of candidates, seats and choices, so use these tables as a guide, not a guarantee for 2027.
JoSAA publishes one opening and closing rank document per round, and each one is round-specific: the closing rank in a round is the last rank admitted in that round only, not the final rank for the year. A later round can admit a higher (worse) rank than an earlier round — for example, CSE closed at 3,303 in Round 1 and at 3,635 in Round 5, and Civil moved from 14,194 to 16,097. So the final closing rank for a programme and category is the highest closing rank across all rounds. That is how the main tables below are built. It is a calculation from the round documents, not a figure JoSAA itself published. In 2026 the Round 5 closing was the highest in every programme, so Round 5 is the final figure throughout.
IITs use a single All India quota — there is no Home State quota as at NITs. OPEN seats use your JEE Advanced Common Rank List (CRL) rank; EWS, OBC-NCL, SC and ST seats use your category rank, so compare category tables only with your own category rank. JoSAA also keeps supernumerary female-only seats in every branch. Two ranges appear in this article and they are different things: the opening-to-closing range for gender-neutral seats (for example CSE 2,184-3,635) and the female-only-closing to gender-neutral-closing range (for example CSE 3,303-3,635). Each table says which one it uses.
IIT Patna also admits through dual degrees (B.Tech + M.Tech, five years), integrated MBA programmes run with IIM Mumbai and IIM Bodh Gaya, and a BS in Economics. They are separate JoSAA programmes with their own closing ranks, shown in their own tables below. A dash (—) in a table means no figure was published for that combination in the source documents. It does not mean zero seats and it does not mean nobody was admitted.
JoSAA 2026 ran five rounds: Round 1 on 13 June, Round 2 on 30 June, Round 3 on 6 July, Round 4 on 10 July and Round 5 (final) on 16 July 2026. Registration and choice filling ran 2-11 June 2026. IITs do not take part in the CSAB special rounds, so there was no further IIT Patna allotment after Round 5.
IIT Patna — JoSAA 2026 Round 1 vs Round 5 closing ranks
The table below is the headline picture for 2026: Round 1 against Round 5 for OPEN gender-neutral seats, All India quota, for all 11 B.Tech programmes and BS Economics. Ranks are JEE Advanced 2026 ranks. Every branch closed higher (worse) in Round 5 than in Round 1, by between 135 ranks (AI & Data Science) and 2,568 ranks (Metallurgical).
| Branch | Round 1 opening | Round 1 closing | Round 5 opening | Round 5 closing |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Computer Science and Engineering | 2,184 | 3,303 | 2,184 | 3,635 |
| Artificial Intelligence and Data Science | 3,491 | 4,439 | 3,491 | 4,574 |
| Mathematics and Computing | 4,119 | 4,875 | 4,119 | 5,320 |
| Electronics and Communication Engineering | 4,703 | 5,664 | 4,832 | 6,026 |
| Electrical and Electronics Engineering | 5,757 | 6,937 | 6,346 | 7,827 |
| Mechanical Engineering | 9,160 | 10,878 | 9,017 | 12,088 |
| Engineering Physics | 10,245 | 11,565 | 10,245 | 12,425 |
| Chemical Engineering | 10,388 | 12,132 | 10,388 | 14,174 |
| Chemical Science and Technology | 11,562 | 14,330 | 14,272 | 15,919 |
| Civil Engineering | 11,875 | 14,194 | 13,631 | 16,097 |
| Metallurgical and Materials Engineering | 12,743 | 14,611 | 14,367 | 17,179 |
| Economics (B.S.) | 8,092 | 12,826 | — | 14,550 |
BS Economics Round 5 opening was not published branch-wise; its Round 5 closing range (female-only to gender-neutral) was 12,826-14,550. Sources: Collegedunia, CollegeDekho and Shiksha — the Round 1 CSE figure (2,184-3,303) and every Round 5 closing agree across all three. Tracker-sourced.
Two things stand out. First, the gap between CSE and the next branch is wide and growing: AI & Data Science closed 939 ranks behind CSE in Round 5 (4,574 against 3,635), and Mathematics and Computing 1,685 behind. Second, the core branches moved the most between rounds: Metallurgical rose 2,568 ranks from Round 1 to Round 5, Chemical 2,042 and Civil 1,903, while CSE rose only 332 and AI & Data Science only 135 — the popular branches were nearly full after Round 1, and the later rounds mostly filled the core branches.
Round-by-round closing ranks, Rounds 1 to 5
Unlike most institutes, IIT Patna's full round-by-round picture could be verified: closing ranks rose in every round (or stayed flat) for every programme, so the Round 5 figure is the final figure for each programme. The tables below are General gender-neutral closing ranks from Shiksha's round-wise data.
| Branch | Round 1 | Round 2 | Round 3 | Round 4 | Round 5 (final) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Computer Science and Engineering | 3,303 | 3,305 | 3,305 | 3,305 | 3,635 |
| Artificial Intelligence and Data Science | 4,439 | 4,461 | 4,461 | 4,461 | 4,574 |
| Mathematics and Computing | 4,875 | 4,878 | 4,878 | 4,911 | 5,320 |
| Electronics and Communication Engineering | 5,664 | 5,742 | 5,742 | 5,742 | 6,026 |
| Electrical and Electronics Engineering | 6,937 | 6,937 | 6,937 | 6,937 | 7,827 |
| Mechanical Engineering | 10,878 | 10,975 | 10,979 | 11,137 | 12,088 |
| Engineering Physics | 11,565 | 11,579 | 11,579 | 11,579 | 12,425 |
| Chemical Engineering | 12,132 | 12,293 | 12,293 | 12,425 | 14,174 |
| Chemical Science and Technology | 14,330 | 14,600 | 14,600 | 14,600 | 15,919 |
| Civil Engineering | 14,194 | 14,719 | 14,740 | 14,742 | 16,097 |
| Metallurgical and Materials Engineering | 14,611 | 14,939 | 15,041 | 15,041 | 17,179 |
Round 5 opening ranks: CSE 2,184; AI & Data Science 3,491; Mathematics and Computing 4,119; ECE 4,832; Electrical and Electronics 6,346; Mechanical 9,017; Engineering Physics 10,245; Chemical 10,388; Chemical Science and Technology 14,272; Civil 13,631; Metallurgical 14,367. Sources: Shiksha round-wise PDF; Round 1 and Round 5 cross-checked against Collegedunia and CollegeDekho. Tracker-sourced.
| Programme | Round 1 | Round 2 | Round 3 | Round 4 | Round 5 (final) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| B.Tech + M.Tech CSE (dual degree) | 4,432 | 4,432 | 4,432 | 4,432 | 4,432 |
| B.Tech Mechanical + MBA (IIM Mumbai) | 9,006 | 9,006 | 9,006 | 9,006 | 9,006 |
| B.Tech CSE + MBA in Digital Business Management (IIM Bodh Gaya) | 4,899 | 4,899 | 4,899 | 4,899 | 5,725 |
| B.Tech AI&DS + MBA in Digital Business Management (IIM Bodh Gaya) | 4,946 | 4,946 | 4,946 | 5,202 | 5,859 |
| B.Tech EEE + MBA (IIM Bodh Gaya) | 7,595 | 7,595 | 7,595 | 7,595 | 9,366 |
| BS Economics | 12,826 | 13,369 | 13,369 | 13,369 | 14,550 |
| BS Economics + MBA (IIM Bodh Gaya) | 13,683 | 13,683 | 13,683 | 13,683 | 15,050 |
The CSE dual degree and Mechanical + MBA closings did not move at all across the five rounds — every seat was filled in Round 1 at the final rank. Sources: Shiksha round-wise PDF; CSE dual (4,432), Mechanical + MBA (9,006) and BS Economics (14,550) cross-checked against Collegedunia. The CSE + MBA, AI&DS + MBA, EEE + MBA and BS Economics + MBA rows are from Shiksha alone. Tracker-sourced.
Category-wise closing ranks, Round 5
Category-wise closing ranks use category ranks, not CRL ranks. Compare them only with your own category rank. The table below gives the Round 5 opening-to-closing range for gender-neutral seats in each category — the opening rank is the best rank admitted, the closing rank is the last rank admitted.
| Branch | General | EWS | OBC-NCL | SC | ST |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Computer Science and Engineering | 2,184–3,635 | 439–507 | 919–1,258 | 437–775 | 239–381 |
| Artificial Intelligence and Data Science | 3,491–4,574 | 545–625 | 1,352–1,602 | 484–956 | 440–455 |
| Mathematics and Computing | 4,119–5,320 | 658–777 | 1,302–1,923 | 1,044–1,288 | 672–736 |
| Electronics and Communication Engineering | 4,832–6,026 | 781–785 | 1,791–2,297 | 1,002–1,350 | 569–627 |
| Electrical and Electronics Engineering | 6,346–7,827 | 1,050–1,153 | 2,310–2,817 | 1,367–1,779 | 654–791 |
| Mechanical Engineering | 9,017–12,088 | 1,627–1,841 | 3,734–4,317 | 1,872–2,333 | 1,023–1,140 |
| Chemical Engineering | 10,388–14,174 | 1,997–2,099 | 3,756–4,931 | 2,413–2,666 | 1,175–1,325 |
| Civil Engineering | 13,631–16,097 | 2,212–2,379 | 4,657–5,370 | 2,571–2,773 | 1,011–1,121 |
| Metallurgical and Materials Engineering | 14,367–17,179 | 2,362–2,517 | 5,248–5,848 | 2,943–3,059 | 1,409–1,465 |
| Chemical Science and Technology | 14,272–15,919 | 2,249–2,428 | 5,122–5,683 | 2,957–3,178 | 1,394–1,434 |
| B.Tech + M.Tech CSE (dual degree) | 3,689–4,432 | 676 | 1,409–1,558 | 999 | 599 |
| B.Tech Civil + M.Tech Geotechnical (dual degree) | 17,663–17,820 | 2,529 | 5,639–5,739 | 2,904 | 1,241 |
Source: CollegeDekho Round 5 category table. Every General closing matches the Round 5 figures in the tables above, and the overall category maxima (EWS 2,517; OBC-NCL 5,848; SC 3,178; ST 1,465) match Collegedunia's category-wise trend table. The remaining branch-category values are from CollegeDekho alone. CollegeDekho labels the Chemical Science and Technology row a dual degree; the values are the B.Tech programme's Round 5 opening and closing ranks and are shown as such here. Engineering Physics category-wise Round 5 ranks were not published and are omitted. Tracker-sourced.
For CSE, Collegedunia also publishes the female-only to gender-neutral closing range in Round 5: General 3,303-3,635; EWS 476-507; OBC-NCL 1,255-1,258; SC 761-775; ST 359-381; General-PwD 127; OBC-NCL-PwD 57. The same ranges for the CSE dual degree are General 4,432; EWS 676; OBC-NCL 1,409-1,558; SC 999; ST 599. For Mechanical + MBA (IIM Mumbai): General 9,006; EWS 1,458-1,686; OBC-NCL 3,518-3,598; SC 2,176-2,179; ST 1,254; General-PwD 102. For BS Economics: General 12,826-14,550; EWS 2,130-2,175; OBC-NCL 5,537-5,923; SC 3,083-3,126; ST 1,511-1,589. Branch-wise female-only closing ranks for the other B.Tech branches were not published on the pages checked.
Across all B.Tech courses, the widest Round 5 category closings were General 17,179, EWS 2,517, OBC-NCL 5,848, SC 3,178 and ST 1,465, with General-PwD 540, OBC-NCL-PwD 129 and EWS-PwD 53. The full Round 5 range across every IIT Patna programme and category was 35 to 17,820.
Dual degrees, MBA programmes and BS Economics
IIT Patna fills seven B.Tech + M.Tech dual-degree programmes through JoSAA, alongside the integrated MBA programmes and BS Economics. Their Round 5 General gender-neutral closing ranks are below. The CSE dual degree is the most sought-after dual programme at 4,432 — only 797 ranks behind the B.Tech CSE closing — while the Civil dual degrees are the easiest way into IIT Patna, closing at 17,261 and 17,820, the latter being the last IIT Patna seat of 2026.
| Programme | Round 5 closing |
|---|---|
| B.Tech Mathematics and Computing + M.Tech | 5,854 |
| B.Tech ECE + M.Tech in VLSI | 6,809 |
| B.Tech + M.Tech in Communication Systems | 6,950 |
| B.Tech EEE + M.Tech in Power & Control | 8,731 |
| B.Tech Mechanical + M.Tech in Mechatronics | 10,711 |
| B.Tech Civil + M.Tech in Structural Engineering | 17,261 |
| B.Tech Civil + M.Tech in Geotechnical Engineering | 17,820 |
Source: Collegedunia B.Tech + M.Tech course-wise trend table. These seven rows are from Collegedunia alone and were not in the Shiksha round-wise data. Tracker-sourced.
The MBA programmes are run with IIM Mumbai (Mechanical + MBA, 9,006) and IIM Bodh Gaya (CSE + MBA in Digital Business Management, 5,725; AI&DS + MBA, 5,859; EEE + MBA, 9,366; BS Economics + MBA, 15,050). Note that the CSE + MBA closing (5,725) is only 393 ranks behind the B.Tech AI & Data Science closing — for a candidate set on computer science, the dual and MBA routes closed well inside the range of the second-most-popular B.Tech branch.
Trends vs 2025 — and back to 2022
IIT Patna CSE has risen every year since 2022: 2,685, 2,811, 3,144, 3,377 and 3,635. Most branches rose from 2025 to 2026, but not all — ECE fell from 6,167 to 6,026 and Engineering Physics from 12,986 to 12,425, a reminder that cutoffs move with the number of candidates and choices each year rather than in a straight line. Note that 2025 had six JoSAA rounds, so the 2025 final is Round 6; the 2026 final is Round 5.
| Branch | 2022 | 2023 | 2024 | 2025 | 2026 (R5) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Computer Science and Engineering | 2,685 | 2,811 | 3,144 | 3,377 | 3,635 |
| Artificial Intelligence and Data Science | 3,702 | 3,577 | 4,346 | 4,312 | 4,574 |
| Mathematics and Computing | — | 4,749 | 4,952 | 4,851 | 5,320 |
| Electronics and Communication Engineering | — | 5,701 | 5,732 | 6,167 | 6,026 |
| Electrical and Electronics Engineering | 7,028 | 7,359 | 6,873 | 7,502 | 7,827 |
| Mechanical Engineering | 10,861 | 11,453 | 10,647 | 11,758 | 12,088 |
| Engineering Physics | 12,318 | 12,977 | 12,031 | 12,986 | 12,425 |
| Chemical Engineering | 12,874 | 13,933 | 12,519 | 13,715 | 14,174 |
| Chemical Science and Technology | — | 15,032 | 14,062 | 15,406 | 15,919 |
| Civil Engineering | 13,741 | 15,295 | 14,579 | 15,400 | 16,097 |
| Metallurgical and Materials Engineering | 14,895 | 16,253 | 15,323 | 16,510 | 17,179 |
2024-2026 cross-checked across Shiksha's round-wise data, Collegedunia's trend table and the JEE Main 2026 Bihar cutoff analysis. 2022-2023 are from Collegedunia's trend table alone. 2025 final = 2025 Round 6; 2026 final = Round 5. AI & Data Science, Engineering Physics and BS Mathematics & Computing were launched from academic year 2021-22. Tracker-sourced.
The dual degrees show the same upward drift with more movement: the CSE dual degree went 3,643 (2023), 4,429 (2024), 4,323 (2025), 4,432 (2026), and Civil + Geotechnical 15,521, 15,274, 16,815, 17,820. Mechanical + MBA moved the other way — 11,335 in 2023, 9,445 in 2024, 9,708 in 2025 and 9,006 in 2026, so that route got easier in 2026.
What rank gets which branch
Read off the final closing tables above. These are 2026 closing ranks for General/OPEN gender-neutral seats, unless a line says otherwise — reserved-category seats close much wider, and female-only seats wider still.
- JEE Advanced rank under about 3,700: IIT Patna CSE. Under about 4,600: AI & Data Science. Under about 5,400: Mathematics and Computing. Under about 6,100: ECE. Under about 7,900: Electrical and Electronics.
- JEE Advanced rank under about 12,100: Mechanical. Under about 12,500: Engineering Physics. Under about 14,200: Chemical. Under about 16,000: Chemical Science and Technology. Under about 16,100: Civil. Under about 17,200: any IIT Patna B.Tech branch (Metallurgical and Materials).
- Dual degrees: CSE dual under about 4,500; Mathematics and Computing dual under about 5,900; ECE dual under about 6,900; Electrical + Power & Control under about 8,800; Mechatronics dual under about 10,800; Civil + Structural under about 17,300; Civil + Geotechnical under about 17,900 — the last IIT Patna seat of 2026.
- MBA and BS routes: Mechanical + MBA (IIM Mumbai) under about 9,100; CSE + MBA (IIM Bodh Gaya) under about 5,800; AI&DS + MBA under about 5,900; EEE + MBA under about 9,400; BS Economics under about 14,600; BS Economics + MBA under about 15,100.
- For reserved categories, use the category tables, not these bands: for example, CSE closed at EWS rank 507, OBC-NCL rank 1,258, SC rank 775 and ST rank 381 (gender-neutral), and the easiest B.Tech branch by category was Metallurgical at EWS 2,517, OBC-NCL 5,848, SC 3,059 and ST 1,465.
JEE Advanced 2026 qualifying cutoffs (not admission cutoffs)
The table below is the JEE Advanced 2026 qualifying cutoff — the minimum marks needed to appear on a rank list at all. It is not an admission cutoff for any programme. Clearing it only gets you into the qualified pool of 56,880 candidates; the admission cutoffs in the tables above are separate, and for the popular branches they sit far inside that pool. A candidate needs the minimum in each subject and the minimum aggregate at the same time.
| Rank list | 2026 per subject | 2026 aggregate | 2025 per subject | 2025 aggregate | 2024 per subject | 2024 aggregate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Common Rank List (CRL) | 8 | 92 | 7 | 74 | 10 | 109 |
| OBC-NCL | 7 | 82 | 6 | 66 | 9 | 98 |
| GEN-EWS | 7 | 82 | 6 | 66 | 9 | 98 |
| SC | 4 | 46 | 3 | 37 | 5 | 54 |
| ST | 4 | 46 | 3 | 37 | 5 | 54 |
| CRL-PwD / OBC-NCL-PwD / GEN-EWS-PwD / SC-PwD / ST-PwD | 4 | 46 | 3 | 37 | 5 | 54 |
| Preparatory Course | 2 | 23 | 1 | 18 | 2 | 27 |
2026 figures are the official marks published by IIT Roorkee with the 1 June 2026 result. The CRL aggregate rose from 74 in 2025 to 92 in 2026. Sources: NDTV, Times Now, Collegedunia and Shiksha for 2026; Shiksha, Motion and CollegeSearch for 2025; Motion and Careers360 for 2024.
JEE Advanced 2026 was held on 17 May 2026, organised by IIT Roorkee, and the result was declared on 1 June 2026. 1,79,694 candidates appeared in both papers and 56,880 qualified — a qualification rate of about 31.7%. Women qualifiers crossed 10,000 for the first time: 10,107 of the 40,562 women who appeared. SC qualifiers were 15,856 (12,499 in 2025) and ST qualifiers 6,379 (5,008 in 2025), while OBC-NCL qualifiers fell slightly to 12,385 (12,606 in 2025). AIR 1 was Shubham Kumar of the IIT Delhi zone with 330 marks out of 360. Among the top 500 rank holders, 365 chose Computer Science and 183 took IIT Bombay.
How many seats
IIT Patna's 11 B.Tech programmes have 603 seats of sanctioned capacity. With the 35 female supernumerary seats, 638 seats were offered in JoSAA 2026. CSE and Mechanical have the largest intakes (83 and 82 seats); Chemical Science and Technology has no supernumerary seats. The table below is from tracker reproductions of the JoSAA seat matrix that agree branch by branch and reconcile exactly.
| B.Tech programme | Gender-neutral seats | Female-only seats | Female supernumerary | Total capacity |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Computer Science and Engineering | 69 | 17 | 3 | 83 |
| Mechanical Engineering | 69 | 17 | 4 | 82 |
| Chemical Engineering | 56 | 14 | 5 | 65 |
| Civil Engineering | 56 | 14 | 6 | 64 |
| Artificial Intelligence and Data Science | 40 | 10 | 4 | 46 |
| Electronics and Communication Engineering | 40 | 10 | 2 | 48 |
| Electrical and Electronics Engineering | 40 | 10 | 2 | 48 |
| Mathematics and Computing | 40 | 10 | 3 | 47 |
| Metallurgical and Materials Engineering | 37 | 9 | 3 | 43 |
| Engineering Physics | 32 | 8 | 3 | 37 |
| Chemical Science and Technology | 32 | 8 | 0 | 40 |
| Total (11 programmes) | 511 | 127 | 35 | 603 |
Female-only seats include the supernumerary seats. Total capacity counts non-supernumerary seats (gender-neutral + female-only non-supernumerary): for example CSE 69 + (17 - 3) = 83. Offered seats = 511 + 127 = 638; sanctioned capacity = 638 - 35 = 603. Sources: collegedost (from the official IIT Patna B.Tech admission page) and Careers360's JoSAA seat matrix reproduction; Collegedunia's per-branch figures are the offered seats and agree. Tracker-sourced.
On top of the B.Tech programmes, IIT Patna fills seven B.Tech + M.Tech dual-degree programmes (10 seats each) and the integrated MBA programmes (76 seats, including 15 for Mechanical + MBA at IIM Mumbai and 6 for BS Economics + MBA at IIM Bodh Gaya). A single consistent grand total across B.Tech, dual-degree, MBA and BS programmes could not be verified from the sources checked and is not stated here.
What is still pending and what could not be verified
- All JoSAA figures are tracker-sourced. The official JoSAA opening and closing rank tool could not be driven from this workspace; a re-check against the live tool would upgrade them to official.
- Engineering Physics category-wise Round 5 ranks were not published on the tracker pages checked and are omitted; only its General opening and closing ranks (10,245-12,425) are verified.
- Branch-wise female-only closing ranks are verified only for CSE, the CSE dual degree, Mechanical + MBA and BS Economics. For the other branches only the gender-neutral ranges are published.
- The seven dual-degree Round 5 closings in the dual-degree table (Mathematics and Computing, ECE-VLSI, Communication Systems, EEE-Power & Control, Mechatronics, Civil-Structural, Civil-Geotechnical) come from Collegedunia alone, as do the 2022 and 2023 trend values. The CSE + MBA, AI&DS + MBA, EEE + MBA and BS Economics + MBA round-wise rows come from Shiksha alone.
- The grand total of IIT Patna seats across B.Tech, dual-degree, MBA and BS programmes could not be reconciled from a single consistent source and is not stated; only the B.Tech total (603 capacity, 638 offered) is verified.
- BS Economics Round 5 gender-neutral opening rank was not published branch-wise; only its female-only to gender-neutral closing range (12,826-14,550) is verified.
- JoSAA 2026 is complete for IIT Patna (five rounds, final 16 July 2026) and IITs do not take part in CSAB, so no further 2026 allotment is expected. The next update to this article will be the JoSAA 2027 cutoffs.
Sources
The closing ranks in this article come from tracker pages that state they reproduce the official JoSAA opening and closing rank reports (Collegedunia, CollegeDekho and Shiksha), cross-checked against each other. The JEE Advanced qualifying cutoffs and exam statistics are the official figures published by IIT Roorkee. Check the official sources below before acting on any rank or date.
Sources & verification
JoSAA closing ranks are tracker-sourced and labelled in the article: the official JoSAA opening and closing rank tool could not be driven from this workspace, so every JoSAA figure was cross-checked against at least two tracker pages that state they reproduce the official JoSAA opening and closing rank reports. JEE Advanced 2026 qualifying cutoffs and exam statistics are the official figures published by IIT Roorkee with the 1 June 2026 result. The seat matrix is from tracker reproductions of the JoSAA seat matrix that reconcile exactly.
Frequently asked questions
Are these the final JEE Advanced 2026 IIT Patna cutoffs?
Yes, as published: JoSAA ran 5 rounds in 2026 (final round 16 July 2026) and IITs do not take part in the CSAB special rounds, so Round 5 is the final allotment. The closing ranks in this article are the highest closing rank across all five rounds for each programme and category — and in 2026 the Round 5 closing was the highest in every row.
Why are the JoSAA ranks in this article labelled tracker-sourced?
The official JoSAA opening and closing rank tool could not be driven from this workspace — its form posts time out — so every JoSAA figure was taken from tracker pages that state they reproduce the official JoSAA reports, and cross-checked across at least two of them (Collegedunia, CollegeDekho and Shiksha). All three agree on every Round 5 General closing rank. A re-check against the live official tool would upgrade them to official.
What is the difference between an opening rank and a closing rank?
The opening rank is the best (lowest) rank admitted to a programme in a category in that round; the closing rank is the last (highest) rank admitted. If your rank is equal to or better (lower) than the closing rank, you were in range for that seat. Both move every year with the number of candidates, seats and choices, so use these tables as a guide, not a guarantee for 2027.
Why do some tables show a range like 2,184-3,635 for CSE and others 3,303-3,635?
They are two different ranges for the same Round 5 result. 2,184-3,635 is the gender-neutral opening to closing rank. 3,303-3,635 runs from the female-only closing rank to the gender-neutral closing rank. JoSAA keeps supernumerary female-only seats in every branch, and their closing ranks are usually slightly better (lower) than the gender-neutral closing. The article says which range each table uses.
What JEE Advanced rank was needed for IIT Patna CSE in 2026?
For OPEN gender-neutral seats, CSE closed at JEE Advanced rank 3,635 in JoSAA Round 5 (opening rank 2,184). For reserved categories the closing ranks were much wider: EWS 507, OBC-NCL 1,258, SC 775 and ST 381 — but those are category ranks, so compare them only with your own category rank.
What is the difference between the JEE Advanced qualifying cutoff and these closing ranks?
The qualifying cutoff (92 out of 360 for the Common Rank List in 2026) is the minimum score needed to appear on a rank list at all. It only gets you into the pool of 56,880 qualified candidates. The closing ranks in this article are the ranks of the last candidates actually admitted to each IIT Patna programme — for CSE that meant a rank of 3,635, far inside the qualified pool.





